Author Topic: Config Directory - Do We Want One?  (Read 1088 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline RadeonUser

  • PJ64 Dever
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 202
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • SuperFly Deving Guy
Config Directory - Do We Want One?
« on: August 09, 2011, 06:25:45 AM »
Just curious how everyone feels about making and using a config directory.
I know it was mentioned weeks ago but I can't recall what was decided.

I don't believe the change would be much more than modifying a few paths so it shouldn't be difficult to implement.
I imagine we could even do an organization similar to 1.7's on the plugins, with a sane default to scan the Plugins directory of course.
That reminds me, I need to find and remove the section of code that hides the rsp plugin's selection.

Offline RadeonUser

  • PJ64 Dever
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 202
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • SuperFly Deving Guy
Re: Config Directory - Do We Want One?
« Reply #1 on: October 21, 2017, 02:00:42 AM »
Back to this one, this weekend will be mostly dedicated to working on this and removing extraneous information from the RDB.

What do I mean by extraneous?
I don't feel the RDB needs this repeated for every entry... RDRAM Size=4
So I will change things so it will only, for example, use the Expansion Pak if "Expansion Pak" is in there.
Or possibly "Use Expansion", it's all a bit unclear right now as I need to think things through a bit more.

Gent loathes the idea of using xml so I will be sticking to a text file that can be editable.

Offline RadeonUser

  • PJ64 Dever
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 202
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • SuperFly Deving Guy
Re: Config Directory - Do We Want One?
« Reply #2 on: October 21, 2017, 06:42:51 AM »
Here are the thoughts so far.

Config Directory will contain:

RDS - Rom Database Settings (Formerly RDB)
-- Jabo's stuff will have to be removed from this.
-- The RDB left in the main directory will be ONLY for supporting Jabo's plugins.
-- Hardcoded default settings will not be written to the RDS
-- Non-Hardcoded settings are CPU Core Style, Self-Mod Code Method, RDRAM Size, ABL (These are under Advanced)
-- The RDRAM may become hardcoded to 4MB and only changeable by game settings because so few games require the expansion pak.

RDI - Rom Database Information (Formerly RDX)
-- Very important file but not much to change here, it's already pretty slim.

RDN (No change)
-- While not used much we already have it established.

CHT (No change?)
-- Gent, give me ideas here.
-- This is your file after all.


The above all share one common thing, they all use an identifier for the ROM.
[XXXXXXXX:XXXXXXXX-C:XX] which is CRC1, CRC2, Country Code.
This is now the guaranteed default, PDs now use 00 instead of simply 0.

They also share the Internal Name.
I would like to get rid of this on the RDI, RDN, and CHT files.
Thoughts on that?
Is the Internal Name helpful from a human stand-point for manual editing?
I am completely flexible on this one so whatever is best.


APPS - Application Settings
-- Pretty much anything that PJ64 currently writes to the registry will go here instead.

ROC - Rom Cache (Formerly CACHE)
-- This will be changed to only require the bare minimum at load
-- File Name, Internal Name, Cart ID, Manufacturer, Country, CRC1, CRC2, CicChip
-- The RDI will be checked for all other information.

Offline RadeonUser

  • PJ64 Dever
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 202
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • SuperFly Deving Guy
Re: Config Directory - Do We Want One?
« Reply #3 on: October 21, 2017, 05:15:33 PM »
Posting a note here for myself.
For some reason my computer is not picking up or applying the Register Caching setting.
Since I am redoing the settings file this will hopefully be looked at.

Use this game for reference: Polaris Snocross
Reg caching on = flicker when exiting a Menu (Use A on first screen then B to exit)

Offline RadeonUser

  • PJ64 Dever
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 202
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • SuperFly Deving Guy
Re: Config Directory - Do We Want One?
« Reply #4 on: October 21, 2017, 06:51:48 PM »
Nope, that was wrong.
This game revealed a possible floating point problem either on Intel or AMD processor.
I will have to investigate and solve, sigh.

Offline Gent

  • PJ64 Dever
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 448
  • Karma: +2/-0
  • SuperFly Deving Guy
    • Project64 Website
Re: Config Directory - Do We Want One?
« Reply #5 on: October 22, 2017, 04:46:19 PM »
CHT (No change?)
-- Gent, give me ideas here.
-- This is your file after all.

Yup would like this changed to:

CDB (Cheat Data Base)
-- I will be streamlining these to useful and sensible cheat support.
-- Anything Beta/Crazy/Silly Specific can be down to the user to add.

CSR (Cheat Search Results) [ Formerly .chtdev]

Lets start a fresh.
« Last Edit: October 22, 2017, 04:50:14 PM by Gent »

Offline RadeonUser

  • PJ64 Dever
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 202
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • SuperFly Deving Guy
Re: Config Directory - Do We Want One?
« Reply #6 on: October 22, 2017, 11:41:26 PM »
Note:
When doing the cheat additions/deletions make sure the numbers are in order within the file.
This will be done simply for better human editing as this is not required by the program.
Also, group the related ones together (Switch and Note).

Offline RadeonUser

  • PJ64 Dever
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 202
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • SuperFly Deving Guy
Re: Config Directory - Do We Want One?
« Reply #7 on: October 31, 2017, 04:48:19 AM »
Unfortunately work has decided to pick up despite it being the "season where things calm down".
The car's also having some problems I need to look into before they turn into expensive problems.

So unless I manage to code everything out in my head and get an hour to type it out this may take a while.
I'm hoping I get both Saturday and Sunday off this week, that would do wonders for trying to cram everything I am doing into one weekend.

Offline RadeonUser

  • PJ64 Dever
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 202
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • SuperFly Deving Guy
Re: Config Directory - Do We Want One?
« Reply #8 on: November 06, 2017, 02:31:30 PM »
I was able to dedicate some time to the settings files this weekend.
Unfortunately, it seems I'm going to need to rewrite parts of the cheat support because what I've done so far has caused unintended consequences.

So that may be a while yet sadly.

Offline RadeonUser

  • PJ64 Dever
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 202
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • SuperFly Deving Guy
Re: Config Directory - Do We Want One?
« Reply #9 on: November 07, 2017, 09:45:07 PM »
These are for the RDS file (New name of RDB file)

No changes:

Save Type
CPU Type
Self-modifying code Method
Counter Factor
Linking

For these below you no longer have to do =Yes or =No
If the entry exists it will use the setting.

ExpansionPak (This used to be RDRAM Size, if this value exists it acts as RDRAM Size=8 otherwise 4)
Disable TLB (This used to be Use TLB, however it is by default On that's why the name was changed)
Delay SI
Audio Signal
SP Hack
Disable Reg Cache (Same as Disable TLB, default on so the name change makes more sense)
Use Large Buffer
Delay RSP
Delay RDP
Emulate AI
« Last Edit: November 07, 2017, 10:12:25 PM by RadeonUser »

Offline RadeonUser

  • PJ64 Dever
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 202
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • SuperFly Deving Guy
Re: Config Directory - Do We Want One?
« Reply #10 on: November 19, 2017, 05:06:58 PM »
Note for myself for later:

Why is RomUseLinking using 0 for on and 1 for off???
Is this a typo?


For everyone else, still working on this.
I finally have some free time but the body's been taking a beating at work so I'm sadly more in recovery than code mode.

Also, I'm likely sticking to that point right above for the settings.
That means I'll have to take off the global selective value for RDRAM and it will default to 4MB by default.
I do believe most of the games that can use the expansion pak are already set but I may be wrong.

Offline RadeonUser

  • PJ64 Dever
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 202
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • SuperFly Deving Guy
Re: Config Directory - Do We Want One?
« Reply #11 on: November 19, 2017, 08:18:35 PM »
Another note for self:
If there's a negative impact on load times consider adding an unindexed method for accessing the files.
OR Consider creating a file to hold the indices for these settings file.

Right now the index is dynamically created, stored in memory, used, and then destroyed because the index also locks the files while reading/writing.

Offline RadeonUser

  • PJ64 Dever
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 202
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • SuperFly Deving Guy
Re: Config Directory - Do We Want One?
« Reply #12 on: January 17, 2018, 07:36:23 PM »
I had been taking a bit of a break lately to get back into the right frame of mind.


Next on my list is to remove all the registry related loads and stores.
I never saw a reason for that and the way I want pj64 to be is portable, move it around and still keep the same settings etc...


I will see if I can intercept the calls from loaded plugins and reroute those as well.
That one is more long term....


Thanks to the work I did for settings (why I'm posting it here!) this should not take too long.


I wonder how to include the new builds though, Gent was of the opinion to just attach and have only board members download the updates (to encourage feedback) but... I'll have to think on it.
I may just toss them on a thread somewhere.


Of course a better idea is to have them organized in some fashion...

Offline RadeonUser

  • PJ64 Dever
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 202
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • SuperFly Deving Guy
Re: Config Directory - Do We Want One?
« Reply #13 on: January 29, 2018, 03:41:03 PM »
Just a small update.
I'm still working on moving the settings saved to registry to a file (apps, application settings).

That said I've not made much progress because work has turned into quite an ordeal.
These past 2 weeks were 60+ hour work weeks, this past one did not include Saturday.
So that day was spent asleep trying to make up for the lack of sleep during the week.
Sunday was spent in a haze just looking at the TV.

So not very productive for programming!
Hopefully things will die down and I'll be able to put in some more hours into this.

Worst case I'll dedicate 20-30 minutes each morning.