Author Topic: Dropping Registry Access  (Read 1229 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline RadeonUser

  • PJ64 Dever
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 207
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • SuperFly Deving Guy
Dropping Registry Access
« on: January 30, 2018, 04:02:02 PM »
I'm starting a new thread for this because I need one place to keep my thoughts.

apps file will store all registry read/writes done by the main application (Unless something doesn't make sense/is pointed out)

For game settings (such as remembered cheats) these will be in the file similar to the RDS (RDB of old) with the [CRC1-CRC2:CountryCode] setup.
This is where I've started and I've been giving it thought that this might not be the best place to store this... (Within the apps file).
I'm feeling like this could be kept within a "User Settings" file which we have yet to implement.
That's basically stuff that should be kept within the RDS because it makes sense.

Gent -- When you get back I'm going to need some feedback on the changes I've made.
I've started on the cheats first  >:D since you're on vacation and all.

Offline RadeonUser

  • PJ64 Dever
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 207
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • SuperFly Deving Guy
Re: Dropping Registry Access
« Reply #1 on: February 02, 2018, 03:43:51 PM »
Well okay then, attempt three of posting this!
I keep on falling asleep and forgetting about this  :D
These will all have an = with the value appended.

[Core Defaults]
Advanced Block Linking
CPU Type
Default RDRAM Size
Self Modifying Code Method

[Directories]
Game Save
State Save
Plugin
Rom
Rom.Recurse
Snapshot
Config

[History]
Remember Cheats
RomDirs Remembered
Roms Remembered
Recent Rom# (This is from 1 to Roms Remembered)

[Behavior] (Gent, you're British but I'm the one programming so yes. Deal with the lack of a u  >:D )
Use RDS
Compress State Saves
Advanced Settings
Language
Auto Run on Open
Auto Full Screen on Run
Pause Emulation If Not Active
Use Rom Browser

[Rom Browser]



Well I've run out of time again  :-<
Hopefully I'll actually get something done this weekend.
I did need to sit down and do this however, since I needed to organize these.

Rom Browser contains all the field information and there's another that's meant to be for the cheat window, pj64's position itself, and... I think some more rom browser stuff.
It isn't much honestly and yes I should have been done by now  :-?


Offline RadeonUser

  • PJ64 Dever
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 207
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • SuperFly Deving Guy
Re: Dropping Registry Access
« Reply #2 on: March 05, 2018, 06:39:29 AM »
Ugh.
Simply ugh.

Registry dropped for application settings (New file called Project64.apps in Config directory now stores these settings).

Gent pointed out someone found out what was causing Taz Express to not show the appropriate letters.
I must apologize on this but I closed the window on my phone and have lost the link so I cannot give appropriate credit.
Gent, please find that link/name of the person so we can appropriately thank that person for the research/work.
As suggested I will likely end up adding an option to disable these fixes (Ai Shogi 3's as well as Taz Express') for better hack support.

Cheats might work again, sorry about that Gent.
I'm sure you'll let me know!

It's still not at a place where I like but this should work until I get the time to simplify the code.

There's been several tweaks along the way but I've forgotten quite a bit of them...
Thankfully I added comments to my commits so I'll share what's on there! lol

Should work on XP again, that was just an access violation being thrown because I made assumptions.
The cache file (ROC) should always be created/updated after a rom scan. (This was an issue before)
There was an issue writing to files, that's been (hopefully) sorted by now... Let me know.
The last one I see was a fix to stop the application from scanning for roms when exiting.

Offline RadeonUser

  • PJ64 Dever
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 207
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • SuperFly Deving Guy
Re: Dropping Registry Access
« Reply #3 on: March 05, 2018, 06:56:52 AM »
Ugh, it's still got problems.
I thought I had fixed them all  :'(

By the way Gent:
Transformers Beast Wars... when did it get playable?  :-S
Or has that slow note been wrong for a while?

-Edit-
See if you can get a reliable way to get that to error on writing settings.
It works fine for me at times then not at all...
« Last Edit: March 05, 2018, 07:15:25 AM by RadeonUser »

Offline Gent

  • PJ64 Dever
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 449
  • Karma: +2/-0
  • SuperFly Deving Guy
    • Project64 Website
Re: Dropping Registry Access
« Reply #4 on: March 05, 2018, 11:17:43 AM »
By the way Gent:
Transformers Beast Wars... when did it get playable?  :-S
Or has that slow note been wrong for a while?

It has been Playable since 1.6 but sadly was still slow due to low end computer specs at the time.

However it is still slow now using the New default Azi Audio, fluctuating between 39-45-55=40.

Using Jabo 1.6.1 however there are no such slow downs  :-? Curious

Offline Gent

  • PJ64 Dever
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 449
  • Karma: +2/-0
  • SuperFly Deving Guy
    • Project64 Website
Re: Dropping Registry Access
« Reply #5 on: March 05, 2018, 11:32:16 PM »

Gent pointed out someone found out what was causing Taz Express to not show the appropriate letters.
I must apologize on this but I closed the window on my phone and have lost the link so I cannot give appropriate credit.
Gent, please find that link/name of the person so we can appropriately thank that person for the research/work.
As suggested I will likely end up adding an option to disable these fixes (Ai Shogi 3's as well as Taz Express') for better hack support.

His name is loganmc10 the Mupen64Plus Dev and the information was from his GitHub Post here


Cheats might work again, sorry about that Gent.
I'm sure you'll let me know!

It's still not at a place where I like but this should work until I get the time to simplify the code.

There's been several tweaks along the way but I've forgotten quite a bit of them...
Thankfully I added comments to my commits so I'll share what's on there! lol

Adding new cheats still crash

Should work on XP again, that was just an access violation being thrown because I made assumptions.
The cache file (ROC) should always be created/updated after a rom scan. (This was an issue before)
There was an issue writing to files, that's been (hopefully) sorted by now... Let me know.
The last one I see was a fix to stop the application from scanning for roms when exiting.

and superb on XP, its working again yay \:D/ \:D/ \:D/ \:D/
« Last Edit: March 05, 2018, 11:43:49 PM by Gent »

Offline RadeonUser

  • PJ64 Dever
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 207
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • SuperFly Deving Guy
Re: Dropping Registry Access
« Reply #6 on: March 06, 2018, 09:21:48 AM »
I don't have a problems with cheats from what I'm seeing...
Make sure the rom browser is fully loaded before you do anything with cheats, that might be an issue.

Provide some steps and I'll try to reproduce but cheat search worked fine as did the right click cheat menu to add a cheat.

Offline Gent

  • PJ64 Dever
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 449
  • Karma: +2/-0
  • SuperFly Deving Guy
    • Project64 Website
Re: Dropping Registry Access
« Reply #7 on: March 06, 2018, 12:04:02 PM »
I don't have a problems with cheats from what I'm seeing...
Make sure the rom browser is fully loaded before you do anything with cheats, that might be an issue.

Provide some steps and I'll try to reproduce but cheat search worked fine as did the right click cheat menu to add a cheat.

Here is a video of it happening below.

All roc and temp files deleted and starting from a fresh new dir.


Offline RadeonUser

  • PJ64 Dever
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 207
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • SuperFly Deving Guy
Re: Dropping Registry Access
« Reply #8 on: March 06, 2018, 04:33:55 PM »
I'll be honest, didn't look at that video at all and it seems to be throwing a cannot load error so now I don't feel as bad.
Here's your cheats you slave driver  :'(

 :(|)

Eagle did it better, you know.
 8->

Offline Gent

  • PJ64 Dever
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 449
  • Karma: +2/-0
  • SuperFly Deving Guy
    • Project64 Website
Re: Dropping Registry Access
« Reply #9 on: March 06, 2018, 05:56:16 PM »
I'll be honest, didn't look at that video at all and it seems to be throwing a cannot load error so now I don't feel as bad.
Here's your cheats you slave driver  :'(

 :(|)

Eagle did it better, you know.
 8->

Yes you keep coming at me and ice ;;) (Remember the IceMan Carries his Pick!) :P

OK now adds new cheat no problem, but gives a "Failed to allocate Memory" error on edit and Crashes on Cheat Delete attempt.

See below Video
« Last Edit: March 06, 2018, 05:57:55 PM by Gent »

Offline RadeonUser

  • PJ64 Dever
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 207
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • SuperFly Deving Guy
Re: Dropping Registry Access
« Reply #10 on: March 06, 2018, 06:50:12 PM »
There was a problem in the way I was reading file data.
This should solve a lot of those cheat problems you're still having Gent.

Offline RadeonUser

  • PJ64 Dever
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 207
  • Karma: +1/-0
  • SuperFly Deving Guy
Re: Dropping Registry Access
« Reply #11 on: October 25, 2018, 01:38:04 PM »
Wow it's certainly been a while since I made time to work on this.
No new build yet but progress was finally made this month.

Offline Gent

  • PJ64 Dever
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 449
  • Karma: +2/-0
  • SuperFly Deving Guy
    • Project64 Website
Re: Dropping Registry Access
« Reply #12 on: October 28, 2018, 04:55:22 PM »
hmm I'm trying to see why

the board has an issue

with one space gaps

edit hmmmm

I have updated the board but still has the issue with one line gaps
it has to be Two gaps to be one gap.....
« Last Edit: October 28, 2018, 05:02:49 PM by Gent »